12 Quotes I Live By

by isabellamariana97

Quotes posted on Tumblr, Instagram, Twitter, Facebook; quotes written in books and magazines, sung in songs, written on walls; quotes said by family and friends; I’m all over that shit. I will mentally note every single one, and write it down later because I’m a huge fan of the cheesy side of life. I’m also a huge fan of ideas condensed down into short, well written sentences or phrases, because my brain is too much of a mess to do that for me. So here are some quotes from all over the place that I have found inspiring or relevant, and valuable enough to pass onto anyone stupid enough to read my blog.

#1
‘At some point you just have to let go of what you thought should happen and live in what is happening’
This is particularly relevant to me, because I have a wild imagination, and I should be paid for building up my own expectations. I read this on an Instagram page called natalieispoetry. I find this quote so useful because I think once you let go of how you expected something to happen, you can begin to work on a more realistic (and a lot of the times a way better) method of achieving something.

#2
‘It’s the job that’s never started as takes longest to finish’
I had to really limit myself here to only one Lord of the Rings/The Hobbit quotes. They’re two of my favourite books of all time and are littered with amazingly relevant, inspiring, motivational quotes you wouldn’t expect to find in a book about dwarves, goblins, dragons and the like. This is probably one of the most useful quotes for me, since it immediately destroys procrastination and motivates me to just get things done.

#3
‘In small proportions we just beauties see,/and in short measures life may perfect be’
This quote is from a poem called Proportion by Ben Jonson. It’s a short poem, but worth a read, because it beautifully expresses gratuity and appreciating things for what they are instead of constantly expecting more; something which a lot of today’s younger generations (including myself) fall victim to.

#4
‘Have I not reason to lament what man has made of man’
Again from a poem, this is taken from Lines Written In Early Spring by William Wordsworth. I like to think I’m a positive person, and that there is hope for the current global situation, politically, socially and economically. However, to deny what man has done to each other would be naïve and irresponsible. First and foremost, I am disappointed in my species. We mindlessly destroy. But that’s not to say we are hopeless, because first we must acknowledge our flaws in order to move forward and improve.

#5
‘I’m very definitely a woman and I enjoy it’
I had to put at least one woman power quote in here and who better than sex-symbol herself Marilyn Monroe. I enjoy everything about being a woman, even if sometimes that involves being treated in an inferior way. I appreciate the feminine energy and strong female spirits, and I enjoy my sexuality as a woman. I will be a woman unapologetically, and I will stand with my bitches, and we will slay.

#6
‘Get in the shower if it all goes wrong’
Forever a basic white bitch, The 1975 is one of my favourite bands of all time, and now that NME have named I Like It When You Sleep Album of the Year and they’re music is now being critically acclaimed, I can go public with this info without people thinking I only like them because of Matt Healy. I mean I love Matt Healy, but they’re music is sick too. But this lyric just strikes a chord with me (pun intended), because I’m a firm believer in situations always looking better in the morning, after a hot shower and a cup of tea, and I think this perfectly sums that up.

#7
‘We’re all mad here’
A bit of a weird one, but a quote that often crosses my mind. Everyone’s crazy, and everyone is weird as fuck. As soon as everyone can accept than no one person is ‘normal’, we can begin to accept each other for the little freaks we all are.

#8
‘The fact is, sometimes it’s really hard to walk in a single woman’s shoes. That’s why we need really special ones now and then to make the walk a little more fun’
I just had to throw a Sex and the City quote in here somewhere because it’s one of my all-time favourite shows and Carrie Bradshaw is goals. Now, I don’t wear heels too often because I’m a tall girl as it is and have terrible balance, but it’s the gist of the message that’s important. Being single is tough sometimes. I know because I’ve always been single. I’ve found, especially over the last couple of years where people have been getting into relationships all around me, sometimes being single wears you down. Most of the time, it’s awesome only having to think about yourself, but at times I feel that I’m missing something. So if in the meantime I can fill that hole with fabulous things that makes me feel like a boss ass bitch, I will.

#9
‘You’re a diamond dear, they can’t break you’
There are a lot of people who will make you feel like shit. Whenever I feel a bit crappy because of how someone’s treated me, or how a situation has worked out, this quote always helps me to keep my chin up. To think of yourself as a diamond is to think of yourself as something with value, beauty and a little twinkle, no matter what size or shape. It is also to think of yourself as a work in progress. To throw some Yonce in there; ‘diamonds used to be coal’. To throw a little more Yonce in there, ‘every diamond has imperfections’. And it is also to think of yourself as unbreakable. In short; it’s a good analogy if you’re looking for an immediate self-confidence boost.

#10
‘Miracles do happen. You just have to be willing to look for them’
As well as Scrubs having a boss ass soundtrack, in every episode they strive to send some kind of valuable message. It’s a favourite TV show of mine but sadly it’s really underrated. I used to think that everything happens for a reason, but I’ve sort of gone off that idea, and have adopted a more ‘every cloud has a silver lining’ perspective. This is a good quote to remember, because it’s very easy to feel bogged down with all the shitty things going on in your life and the world, but if you take a moment to reflect on the good that can come out of a bad situation, you have something to build on. It just might take a little work on your part to spot those miracles.

#11
‘I used to pride myself on not being focused on money. Now I’m thinking that would have been preferable to not having focus at all’
I’m a huge fan of Humans of New York. I think what they’re doing is amazing and I’d love to be able to do something like that one day. This quote is taken from one of their posts. The photo was of a young girl, and she told about how she always felt somewhat ‘entitled to success’ because she was a hard worker. She said she ‘lacked single-mindedness’ and is too ‘scattered and complacent’. She has a ‘hard time finishing things’. If I could use four quotes to describe myself, I would probably choose them. So when I read her story I related to it so much it frightened me. I’m not endorsing going into a career solely because it pays well, I’m endorsing beating indecisiveness. Once you make a decision about the direction you want to go in, whatever that it, doors will begin to open, and you can move somewhere instead of being stuck in the in between.


#12
‘I will love’
This is a little one by me. I know I’m no Maya Angelou or Abraham Lincoln, but for me it perfectly sums up how I strive to live. I believe the ability to love is the most powerful tool we possess as a species, and maybe more so that we can choose to love unconditionally. I am also a firm believer in attracting the energy that you give out; if you give love, you will receive love. It’s a cycle. So that’s the energy I strive to give out. I strive to love.

